crunchburger

so you know what’s a genius idea??

deciding to join a pass the cookbook club and then taking a blogcation.

because nothing makes more sense than deciding to commit yourself to cooking something and sharing it when you’re simultaneously deciding to take time off from doing that.

genius here.

well needless to say, i didn’t participate in the may recipe share but i decided to get on the ball for june. and it could not have been more perfect timing… june meant burgers and i am on a completely burger kick at the moment! as in they are part of my meal plan every week. i’m not sure how long this kick is going to last but i’m good with.

but back to the cookbook club…. kita decided that june’s recipes would come bobby flay’s burgers, fries and shakes cookbook. i took the rather boring route and went for the crunchburger (aka signature burger). honestly it was more because the other choices (a greek burger and a tuna burger) didn’t strike my fancy than anything else. a good old fashioned burger i can totally get behind. the twist on this is the potato chips.

yup.

you heard me right.

potato chips on top of the burger. just like you’d do with lettuce and tomato.

and let’s all be honest with ourselves. any sandwich is made better by adding some potato chips.

(p.s. if you never did that, you’re totally missing out.)

but the truth is…. i could do without the chips.

i also felt the horseradish mayo was slightly over hyped.

BUT….

this burger was still fantastic. and i really attribute that to having quality meat. the burger itself is simply ground meat patties seasoned with some salt and pepper. that’s it. it was almost revolutionary to me. it was ground beef heaven. no lie.

and let’s be honest…. burgers and july 4th are totally meant to be.

a couple things:

  1. bobby specifies american cheese. while i will agree that it is the meltiest and makes the best grilled cheese (assuming we’re not counting pimento cheese in the argument), i prefer other cheese on my burgers. i like to mix it up and my local whole foods has had this cheese out for sampling and it is like BUTTAH so that’s what i went with. use your preference.
  2. i happen to really like horseradish and the heat from something like creole mustard. needless to say, i upped the horseradish in my spread and used a whole grain dijon. next time, i will up the horseradish more and use true creole mustard. if you are not a fan, use less horseradish and traditional dijon.
  3. i tend to keep the fat at a minimal when i use ground beef. that being said, if you want to make juicy, delicious burgers you need some fat. i went with 50% ground sirloin (95/5 lean/fat ration) and 50% ground chuck (85/15 lean/fat ration).
  4. i also like my beef medium rare, including ground beef. this freaks some people out. i like to live dangerously what can i say?

crunchburgercrunchburger (aka signature burger)

  • 3/4 lb ground sirloin (95/5 lean/fat ratio)
  • 3/4 lb ground chuck (85/15 lean/fat ratio)
  • garlic salt and pepper
  • 8 slices cheese, each 1/4″ thick – mine was more like 12 slices but that’s because the block of cheese was about 1″ wide there were 3 slices per burger
  • 4 buns, split and toasted
  • Horseradish Mustard Mayo, recipe below
  • 4 handfuls potato chips – i used bbq, but use whatever you have / prefer
  • additional toppings (lettuce, tomato, onion) as desired
  1. gently mix together your meat; divide  into 4 equal portions. gently form each portion into a patty approximately 3/4″ thick; press a deep indention into the center of the patty to help prevent the patty from shrinking too much. season both sides with garlic salt and pepper; set aside to heat a cast iron skillet (or another heavy bottom skillet).
  2. heat the cast iron skillet over medium heat with a small amount of canola oil in it. cook the burgers 3 min per side (for medium rare), topping with cheese the last min or so of cooking.
  3. spread horseradish mayo on both sides of the buns; place burgers on the buns and top with toppings as desired. pile the potato chips on the burgers and top with bun. serve with some fries and a cold beer.

horseradish mayo

  • 1/4 c mayo
  • 1 tbs Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbs whole grain Dijon mustard
  • 3 tbs drained prepared horseradish
  • salt and pepper
  1. mix together the mayo, mustards and horseradish. season with salt and pepper to taste. let mixture sit in the fridge for at least 30 min for the flavors to meld together.

check out what some other fantastic people made:

kisses.

recipe adapted from: bobby flay’s burgers, fries and shakes cookbook

this post is linked up to these fun link parties: what’s cookin’ wednesdays and what’s in your kitchen wednesdays

15 thoughts on “crunchburger

  1. I loved the horseradish mayo…it was my fav part of the burger! But, I agree…I could have done without the chips!

  2. I’m glad you came back to join this month’s because now I have discovered your blog! I went with the crunch burger as well and I loved it!

  3. I agree that American cheese belongs in a grilled cheese and is not my choice for cheeseburger. Because I didn’t even make the horseradish sauce and opted for a Thai peanut mayo sauce instead (because I am just a recipe rebel), I cannot even comment about how good or bad it was. Your photos are definitely of a tempting looking burger, though.

    • Man! I wouldn’t have even thought of adding a Thai peanut sauce!! I have a friend that had a peanut butter burger and said it was fantastic so I may need to jump on this idea train!!

  4. Yum! I agree with you, I like to do cheese other than American on burgers…more fun that way! It’s funny, I don’t mind ordering a medium burger in a restaurant, but at home I always want to cook them well done…I guess I trust myself less than a restaurant chef. 🙂 Your burger looks great!

    • I like experimenting with all the cheeses. I feel like it’s the easiest way to change up flavor next to sauces. I’m definitely the person that pretty much eats all my beef medium rare, you should try it at home… worst that happens is you decide to cook it longer! 🙂

  5. Those bbq chips on top really have me wanting to go grab a handful right now. I enjoyed this burger, and love shoving chips in my sandwiches, but Im with you, I felt it wasn’t 100% needed.

Holla Back!

