martha’s vanilla malted cookies

hooray!!

we’ve made it past the chocolate chip cookie phase of martha’s cookies madness. don’t get me wrong. i love me some chocolate chip cookies (they are afterall what made me start this little challenge) but it’s about time to find some more lovely cookies. some new friends to invite to the cookie lovers party.

and this week’s cookies are vanilla in a couple ways. first, they are vanilla flavored. but they are vanilla flavored and include malt powder which lends a caramelly tone to them. which brings me to my next point. to me they are, well, a bit vanilla. don’t get me wrong. i love me some vanilla done right. but these… well they’re just not my favorite.

so why am i posting them you might ask…

well a) because they are these week’s martha’s cookie madness and b) i’m just about the only person that felt that way about these cookies. see.. i bring almost everything i bake to work. i mean if these things are chilling at my house waiting for me, well it wouldn’t be a good thing for my waistline. so i brought these cookies to work and everyone else told me over the next two days how much they enjoyed these cookies. i think for me, they weren’t as sweet as i would like my cookie to be. i’m not necessarily saying i want a cookie that hurts my teeth it’s so sweet but these were just bland to me. i do enjoy a good shortbread cookie but let’s be honest, you put that much butter into anything and it’s bound to be damn good. these were just eh for me. maybe it’s because i don’t particularly like malt flavoring (ice cream or malt balls) and i’m not a fan of cream cheese (you can’t really taste it in these cookies). i don’t really know. but like i said, everyone else thought they were stellar.

martha’s vanilla malted cookies

  • 2 3/4 c flour
  • 3/4 c plain, malted milk powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 c (2 sticks) softened, unsalted butter
  • 3 oz cream cheese, room temp
  • 1 c sugar
  • 1 vanilla bean, split and seeds scraped – if you can’t find a vanilla bean or don’t want to buy it, use 1 tsp vanilla bean paste or 1 extra tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg, room temp
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  1. preheat oven to 350F. line your baking pans with parchment or a silpat.
  2. whisk together flour, malted milk powder and baking powder; set aside.
  3. beat together the butter and cream cheese until thoroughly combined. add sugar, salt and vanilla bean seeds (reserve the pod for something else like vanilla simple syrup). add egg and vanilla extract and combine. reduce speed to low and add the flour mixture until just combined.
  4. transfer your dough to a pastry bag with a large tip (you can use a star tip or just a round one). pipe strips that are 2 1/2 in long onto the lined baking sheets, space them about 1 in apart.
  5. bake until the edges are just golden brown, 10-12 min. transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.

one note.. if you don’t have a piping bag and tips laying around and don’t want to invest in them, just use a gallon size ziploc bag and cut the tip off. tada! a poor man’s piping bag!

if you’re a malt / not super sweet cookie lover, you should totally try these and let me know what you think.

as for me… unless they’re a special request… i think they’ve seen their one and only invite to the cookie lover’s party. just keeping it real.

kisses.

recipe from: martha stewart’s cookie cookbook

Holla Back!

